Now some Ponderings on Writing

As Hemmingway wrote in The Old Man and the Sea: Now is no time to think of what you do not have. Think of what you can do with what there is.

Well I try not to fret about what I do not have, for I have my writing and with it I do fantasy.

As Terry Pratchett said: Fantasy is an exercise bicycle for the mind. It might not take you anywhere, but it tones up the muscles that can.

I consider myself toned, but still in great need of more exercise. With that in mind, I am in the process of some serious cross-country peddling as I edit book two of my Wefan Weaves Trilogy – The Fractured Portal. My editor has set me one heck of a task, to put more drive into the story, to set a goal for one particular character, which he he has no idea how to achieve. The Fractured Portal was, I see now, too much of a ‘middle’ book, it must become almost a ‘stand-alone’, with its own story and strength, not just a ‘lead-in’ to book three.

I can let you know this: things get both worse and better for those characters that survived book one, The Cracked Amulet. Also, new characters have arrived in Dumnon from another world. ‘What world?’ I hear you ask, and I answer: ‘You must read it yourself to find out.’ Their stories twine with those we have come to know and love, and so the Wefan Weaves narrative becomes ever more complex and compelling.

I admit I find editing hard but it is also rewarding work. All those unedifying sentences can be found and excised. Unnecessary words can be trashed. Language can be honed and scenes reworked for more impact. All for the reader. All for you.

Tell me readers, is it so that stories of imagination tend to upset those without one? I read that somewhere, let me know if you know where.
Meanwhile, let your imagination travel the world of Dumnon…
map of dumnon

Dumnon setting for my trilogy The Wefan Weaves

All the best
R B Watkinson
Leave a Reply

